Find a local group

The Federation is an umbrella organisation which coordinates and supports the work of 28 separate Book Groups throughout England, Scotland and Wales.

Use the A-Z below to find a specific Book Group, or click on an area of the British Isles, to find the one nearest to you.


View Local Book Groups which together form the FCBG in a larger map

If, when trying to contact any of the Book Groups, you experience any difficulties, please contact the National Secretary by emailing info@fcbg.org.uk.

If you are a member of a Book Group and you discover that the information about your Book Group needs editing please contact the National Secretary by emailing info@fcbg.org.uk.

  • Aldbourne CBG – Contact: Jane Renwick jane@markrenwick.wanadoo.co.uk
  • Barrowby and Grantham CBG – Contact: Wendy Gilham-Skinner wendy.gilham@tesco.net
  • Birmingham CBG – Contact: Irene Halligan irenehalligan@hotmail.com
  • Dudley CBG – Contact: Rosanne Bartlett cbartlett@earls.dudley.sch.uk
  • Dundee & Area CBG – Contact: Margret Blow mmblow@virginmedia.com
  • Harrogate CBG – Contact: Jo Huett johuett@gmail.com
  • Herts CBG – Contact: Karen Benoy (Secretary) karenbenoy@hotmail.com
  • Hove CBG – Contact: Hayley Sanderson hayleysanderson@mac.com or Tel: 01273 272946
  • Ipswich CBG – Contact: Jayne Gould jayne.gould@btopenworld.com or Jayne Gould, 34 Salehust Road, Ipswich, IP3 8RY, Tel. 01473 714672.
  • Kirklees & Calderdale CBG – Contact: Ben Lawrence, Children and Young People’s Library Service Officer (Early Years, Branches and Bookstart Co-ordinator) Central Library Halifax ben.lawrence@calderdale.gov.uk or Tel. 01422 392620
  • Lewes CBG – Contact: Jean Burke lewescbg@gmail.com. Lewes CBG has its own website at http://leweschildrensbookgroup.weebly.com/.
  • North Norfolk CBG – Contact: Gwynneth Bailey gwynneth60@hotmail.co.uk or Gwynneth Bailey, Great Wood Cottage, Marsham, Norwich, Norfolk, NR10 5QQ, Tel. 01603 871628
  • North Somerset CBG – Contact: Sue Wilsher suemwilsher@gmail.com
  • North Wales CBG – Contact: Gill Roberts gillybookworm@aol.com
  • North West London CBG – Contact: Vanessa Brathwaite vbrath1@mac.com.
  • Oxford CBG – Contacts: Kathy Lemaire , Middle Cottage, 11 Menmarsh Road, Worminghall, Aylesbury HP18 9JT kathy.lemaire@btinternet.com OR Joanna Steele, 107 Southfield Road, Oxford, OX4 1NY jolizsteele@btinternet.com.
  • Oxted CBG – Contact: Amanda Davies mandydavies29@ntlworld.com or Amanda Davies, Cedar House, 29 Granville Road, Oxted, Surrey, RH8 0BX, Tel. 01883 723942
  • Plymouth CBG – Contact: Alison Clibbens info@fcbg.org.uk
  • Reading CBG – Contact: Carol Botterill grr.reading@ntlworld.com
  • Saddleworth CBG – Contact: Kate breithol@yahoo.com
  • Solihull CBG – Contact: Pat Tate p.tate@blueyonder.co.uk
  • South Buckinghamshire CBG – Contact: Izzy Legg plessis@btinternet.com
  • Southampton CBG – Contact: Mrs. Anne Clewlow annie.clewlow@btopenworld.com
  • Staffordshire CBG – Contact: Bernie Carr staffordshirechildrensbookgroup@yahoo.co.uk
  • Waveney Valley CBG – Contact: Sally Blows Sally.Blows@norfolk.gov.uk
  • West Wales CBG – Contact: Liz Smith wwcbg@lizsmith.info or Tel. 01437 767399
  • Wolverhampton CBG – Contact: Lisa Wharton L.Wharton@wolverhamptoncyp.org.uk
  • Worcestershire CBG – Contact: Julie Benkwitz juliebenkwitz@hotmail.com
  • Yeo Valley CBG - Contact: Susan Willis susanelizwillis@hotmail.com. Yeo Valley CBG have their own website at http://www.yeovalleycbg.org.uk/.

  • If there is no Children’s Book Group in your area and you would like to find out more about setting one up, information on the process is available here. We are keen to increase the number of Children’s Book Groups in existence and will support you in doing so. Alternatively you may wish to become an Individual or Professional member of the Federation of Children’s Book Groups. You can find out more about the different types of membership here.

    Author Chris d’Lacey at an Ipswich Children’s Book Group event 2004