Red House Children’s Book Award


The children of the Federation of Children’s Book Groups have chosen their favourites and the winners have been announced at an exciting ceremony at the Queen Elizabeth Hall in London. Oliver Jeffers and Drew Daywalt’s The Days the Crayons Quit was the overall winner, and winner of the younger children category. The other category winners were Demon Dentist by David Walliams and illustrated by Tony Ross (books for younger readers) and Split Second by Sophie McKenzie (books for older readers).

Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers both live in New York City and could not make the ceremony, but were represented by their publishers.

The Red House Childen's Book award for 2015 goes to "The Day the
Oliver thanked voters via a very entertaining video:

While Drew thanked voters via Twitter with this wonderful illustration:


Wendy Gilham, RHCBA coordinator said:
“It’s been a very exciting first year for me to be organising the Award. What a wonderful shortlist of books the children chose and with nearly 50,000 votes from FCBG children around the country, it really shows the Award’s popularity among the nation’s children. The Day The Crayons Quit is truly the children’s choice.”


The 2015 shortlisted books were:

Books for Younger Children
Dragon Loves Penguin – Debi Gliori (Bloomsbury)
The Day The Crayons Quit – Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers (HarperCollins)
Got To Sleep Or I Let Loose The Leopard – Steve Cole and Bruce Ingram (Random House)
That Is NOT a Good Idea – Mo Willems (Walker)

Books for Younger Readers
Baby Aliens Got My Teacher – Pamela Butchart, illustrated by Thomas Flintham (Nosy Crow)
Demon Dentist – David Walliams, illustrated by Tony Ross (HarperCollins)
The Bomber Dog – Megan Rix (Puffin)

Books for Older Readers
Noble Conflict – Malorie Blackman (Doubleday)
Prince of The Icemark – Stuart Hill (Chicken House)
Split Second – Sophie McKenzie (Simon and Schuster)

Here are some highlights from the 2014 ceremony:

And here is our 2014 winner’s acceptance speech:

You can see some images from the 2014 award ceremony here.

Some press coverage of the 2014 Award
Love and aliens conquer all as ‘The 5th Wave’ wins children’s book award – The Independent
Yancey wins Red House award – The Bookseller
The 5th Wave wins Red House children’s book award – The Guardian

The Red House Children’s Book Award is the only national children’s book award voted for entirely by children. The award ceremony takes place annually in the Queen Elizabeth Hall in London during the Imagine Festival in February.

It was founded in 1980 as the Children’s Book Award by the FCBG’s Pat Thomson to celebrate the books that children themselves love reading, and each year since then children in FCBG book groups around the UK and via the RHCBA website have been reading as many new books as they can and voting to pick both the shortlist and the eventual winners.

A dedicated website showcases the award including downloadable resources. Children who are not part of a participating FCBG group can also nominate books here.


The Winners of the 2013 Red House Children’s Book Award were

  • Spooky Spooky House by Andrew Weale and Lee Wildish in the Younger Children category
  • Gangsta Granny by David Walliams, illustrated by Tony Ross in the Younger Readers category
  • The Medusa Project: Hit Squad by Sophie McKenzie in the Older Readers category


The award for the overall winner went to Spooky Spooky House by Andrew Weale and Lee Wildish!

Over 200 photos from the award ceremony are available to view here.

The 2013 Red House Children's Book Award Winners - Lee Wildish and Andrew Weale, for Spooky, Spooky House

The 2013 Red House Children’s Book Award Winners – Lee Wildish and Andrew Weale, for Spooky, Spooky House

You can see a gallery of images from the 2012 Red House Children’s Book Award Ceremony in our Photo Gallery.

Michael Morpurgo (centre) with Jim Kay (L), and Patrick Ness (R). A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness and Jim Kay won the Red House Children’s Book Award in 2012.

For more information about the award see the dedicated website

If you have a question you can’t find an answer to on the website contact and we’ll try to help.

Some past press coverage
Children vote A Monster Calls best book of 2012 The Guardian 18 February 2012
Patrick Ness wins Red House book award The Telegraph 18 February 2012
Michael Morpurgo’s Shadow wins children’s book prize BBC News: Entertainment & Arts 11 June 2011
Sophie McKenzie wins Red House award The Bookseller 8 June 2009